800 SW Jackson St., Suite 1414 Topeka, KS 66612

Alexandra Blasi, Executive Secretary



Phone: (785) 296-4056 Fax: (785) 296-8420 pharmacy@ks.gov www.pharmacy.ks.gov

Laura Kelly, Governor

April 30, 2019

## AYENEW BELAYNEH 7602 GODDARD ST APT 203 SHAWNEE KS 66214

## RE: In the Matter of Ayenew Belayneh Case No. 19-150

Dear Ayenew Belayneh:

The Kansas State Board of Pharmacy has concluded its audit of continuing education for your recent renewal and determined that you are noncompliant. Please read the enclosed Summary Order in its entirety, which includes assessment of a fine and mandatory additional continuing education. This discipline will be reported to the National Association of Boards of Pharmacy as a continuing education violation.

If you dispute the facts or legal basis for the action and wish to request a hearing regarding this matter, please reference the section titled "Notices" in the Order and promptly take action. Please be aware that if you request a hearing and the Board prevails, you will be required to pay the costs of the hearing.

Please note that when you submit your renewal each year, you certify that you have completed all continuing education necessary to renew your license. Therefore, failure to complete that continuing education constitutes a misrepresentation on your renewal application. The Board takes this matter very seriously. Even though this Summary Order does not mention any misrepresentation, any <u>future</u> violation of the continuing education requirement will include a finding of misrepresentation to the Board.

If you have questions, please email <u>pharmacy.compliance@ks.gov</u> and reference your case number.

Sincerely,

Kansas State Board of Pharmacy

enc: Summary Order

### BEFORE THE KANSAS STATE BOARD OF PHARMACY

)

) )

)

In the Matter of the Renewal Application of

Ayenew Belayneh Registration No. 14-101666 Case No. 19-150

#### **SUMMARY ORDER**

**NOW** on April 30, 2019, comes before the Kansas State Board of Pharmacy through its Executive Secretary (hereinafter referred to as the "Board") the matter of Ayenew Belayneh (hereinafter referred to as "Respondent").

Pursuant to the authority granted to the Board by the Kansas Pharmacy Act, K.S.A. 65-1625, *et seq.*, and in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act, K.S.A. 77-501, *et seq.*, the Board enters this Summary Order in the above-captioned matter. After reviewing the renewal materials and being otherwise duly advised in the premises, the Board makes the following findings, conclusions, and order:

#### FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On or around 10/22/2018, Respondent submitted a renewal application for Respondent's Kansas pharmacy technician registration.

2. Respondent's renewal application was selected for an audit to provide proof of Respondent's continuing education certificates or a transcript of completion of required hours.

3. Respondent provided proof of 0 hours of continuing education to renew Respondent's pharmacy technician registration.

4. Since Respondent was licensed for less than the entire biennial licensure period, Respondent was eligible for obtaining prorated hours and only required 19 hours of continuing education for renewal.

2

#### CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

5. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1663(f)(1), the Board may limit, suspend or revoke a registration or deny an application for issuance or renewal of any registration as a pharmacy technician on any ground, which would authorize the board to take action against the license of a pharmacist under K.S.A. 65-1627, and amendments thereto.

6. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(9), the Board may deny, revoke, suspend, or place on probation any pharmacist license upon a finding that Respondent failed to comply with the continuing education requirements of the Board for license renewal.

7. Pursuant to K.A.R. 68-5-18, 20 hours of continuing education shall be required for renewal of a pharmacy technician registration during each registration period, which must be obtained in the two-year registration period ending on the October 31 expiration date of each registration.

8. Pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1658, in addition to any other penalty imposed by the Pharmacy Practice Act, the Board may assess a civil fine for a violation of K.S.A. 65-1627(a), in an amount not to exceed \$5,000 for each violation.

9. Respondent was required to provide proof of completion of 19 hours of continuing education earned between September 1, 2016 and October 31, 2018.

10. By only providing proof of completion of 0 hours of continuing education, Respondent failed to complete the required 19 hours of continuing education for renewal of Respondent's pharmacy technician registration.

11. The role of the Board is to protect the citizens of Kansas. The Board regards the failure to comply with the continuing education requirements as a serious issue. Given the number of home-study, web-based, and live programs available, achieving the hours required each biennial renewal period cannot be viewed as a burden. Without continued investment in pharmacy education,

3

the vision of quality pharmacy providers in Kansas will not be met. In order to provide safe, effective, and high quality healthcare for Kansas patients, the practice of pharmacy requires lifelong improvement and education.

#### **ORDER**

Based on the foregoing findings of fact and conclusions of law, the Board orders the following:

For Respondent's violation of K.S.A. 65-1627(a)(9) and K.A.R. 68-5-18, a fine is assessed in the amount of \$100. Therefore, Respondent shall submit a check or money order in the amount of \$100 to the Board by June 1, 2019.

Furthermore, an additional two hours of continuing education will be required for each hour of missing or falsified continuing education. **Respondent shall complete 38 hours of additional approved continuing education and provide proof of completion to the Board by July 1, 2019**. Completion of these hours shall not count toward Respondent's next continuing education renewal requirement.

#### **NOTICES**

Respondent is hereby notified as follows:

1. Respondent may request a hearing pursuant to the Kansas Administrative Procedure Act by filing a written request with the Kansas Board of Pharmacy, 800 SW Jackson, Suite 1414, Topeka, KS 66612-1231, within 15 days after service of this Order. If the outcome of the hearing is adverse to Respondent, costs of the proceedings shall be charged to Respondent.

2. If a hearing is not requested as described above, the Summary Order shall become a final order of the Board, effective upon the expiration of the time to request a hearing.

3. Within 15 days after entry of a final agency order, either party may file a petition for reconsideration pursuant to K.S.A. 77-529.

4. Within the time limits established in K.S.A. 77-613, either party may seek judicial

4

review of a final agency order, pursuant to K.S.A. 77-613. The agency officer designated to receive service of a petition for judicial review is:

Alexandra Blasi Executive Secretary Kansas Board of Pharmacy 800 SW Jackson, Suite 1414 Topeka, KS 66612

IT IS SO ORDERED.

<u>April 30, 2019</u> Date

iles Stein

Executive Secretary

# CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I did, on April 30, 2019, deposit in business mail a copy of the foregoing

Summary Order, which is then placed in the United States Mail, postage prepaid, properly

addressed to the following:

AYENEW BELAYNEH 7602 GODDARD ST APT 203 SHAWNEE KS 66214

lendble

Kansas Board of Pharmacy Staff